Vegan Living (A first for me!)

DSC09461  DSC09459

The first host family that we stayed with were vegans, which means that they did not consume any animal products. No meat as well as no cheese, milk or even honey. This was a new challenge for me as I am in love with cheese. However, I was challenged to learn to make what I wanted, without the animal byproducts. I looked up recipes and was able to make so many new foods.

The first one I tried to make was almond milk. The recipe is really simple and I have another post on just making almond milk.

DSC09462

DSC09465

This actually turned out amazing! It is sweet and I put a couple of drops of vanilla in it and sprinkled a little cinnamon on top and I felt like I was at Starbucks!

The second thing I tried was vegan bread. The ingredients were only flour, yeast, olive oil, and water.

This turned out even better than I imagined! I wont lie, I was expecting something awful and doughy. But they tasted just like biscuits!

Some other natural remedies I learned:

*Using salt to cleanse ‘skeeter bite wounds. Tasha was getting chewed up one day and after scratching all afternoon, I learned that salt (along with lemon, garlic or onions) rubbed on bug bites, calms the itch so that they can heal.

*A healthier and more natural way of cleaning is with the use of vinegar and the juice from lemons

*Lemons rubbed under the arms in the shower along with a little baking soda reduce underarm body oder dramatically. Thus virtually eliminating the need for deoderant.

*Parasites like fleas hate the smell and taste of garlic. For dogs that spend a lot of time outside, crush garlic and add some water and a bit of olive oil. Mix it together and you have a homemade flea repellant. The oil drowns the flea and they suffocate. (This of course works best if the dogs are outside dogs or on a farm). This reduces the burning and harmful chemicals from store bought flea killers

Does anyone else have any awesome Vegan or organic recipes/suggestions?

 

Check us out at Infinitejourneyblog.com

4 thoughts on “Vegan Living (A first for me!)

  1. We use oatmeal milk in our smoothies and coffee. Great stuff and taste great. I’ve also heard of coconut sugar and the health benefits from it. However, I’ve not been able to find it here in China. Great post here, thanks for sharing!

All the cool kids comment

