Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

I had a lot of fun last week when doing this and after being selected by the guest host, an amazing photographer named Terrence Jones, I decided to flip through some of my photos and try again.

This week’s topic is Free Spirit, and to be honest it took me a little while to think about what that meant to me. I wanted to make sure that I had a photo that really represented what free spirit looked like to me. I speak a lot about passions, fears, desires and purposes with others, but what I realized I was lacking was spirit. I wanted to capture that in this week’s challenge. I wanted the blogsphere to see what my spirit looked like; kind, soft, generous and delicate.

I went to New Orleans a couple of months after Hurricane Katrina, and I was amazed at the destruction that I saw. While walking through the 9th Ward (the area that was hit the hardest during the storm) I got these few pictures. To me, they speak volumes about the actual people that lived there and although the entire area was silent, the spirit was as loud as Mardi Gras! It was all around us and I tried to capture that with the essence of these photos.

Please take the time to comment, I love the feedback and hope you like these photos πŸ™‚

New Orleans- 6 months after Hurrican Katrina
New Orleans- 6 months after Katrina
New Orleans- 6 months after Katrina
New Orleans- 6 Months after Katrina

I hope these photos touch your spirit the way they did mine.

12 thoughts on “Weekly Photo Challenge: Free Spirit

  1. Tourism is a huge industry in New Orleans. I was in New Orleans 9 months after Katrina. I remember the FEMA trailers, the damage, and a slower and quieter French Quarter. And, I remember people rebuilding and learning that locals were working two or three shifts to make sure all the open restaurants, hotels, shops, etc. were staffed, open and running so everyone visiting would know that N’Awlins was back.

    • Thank you. Being there was unlike anything I had ever experienced, if you ever get the chance to go to New Orleans please do! Despite everything they had been through, the people are so strong willed! This picture was taken from the closet of the family whose house we helped to restore. Everything was as it was when the storm had hit, dishes in the cabinets, food in the fridge, and clothes in the closet.

      Thank you so much for stopping by, I appreciate your kind words πŸ™‚

  2. I often think of these people, and I still remember the vivid images of the devastation ‘Katrina’ inflicted, Many Thanks for posting this,
    John Bogie. (Glasgow, Scotland.)

    John Bogie. Glasgow, Scotland.)

    • I think Katrina was one of the first natural disasters that was so close to where i lived and i was old enough to really understand what was going on and what that impact meant. I had gone to New Orleans just the year before on a college visit and to see NOLA post Katrina was mind blowing. Thank you for stopping by and commenting πŸ™‚

All the cool kids comment

